Who’s judging the Judges…

judging the judges

 

 

 

 Recently Judge G. Todd Baugh of Montana sentenced Stacey Rambold (a teacher), because he raped one of his students (a 14 year old girl, Cherice Morales).  He sentenced him to 15 year in prison, which he then cut down to 30 DAYS in jail, yes that’s all!  One of the statements the Judge made to explain his decision was that the girl looked older than her chronological age, Really!  I mean REALLY!  Oh and by the way, Cherice Morales ended up killing herself later, the ravages of rape strike again.

Because of demonstrations and the media putting the story out, the teacher was re-sentenced, (I can’t believe they could let the same Judge do it again), and he gave the teacher only 2 years this time!  Let me say this, if this had been the Judges daughter or granddaughter, the Judge probably would have thrown the teacher in jail and tossed away the key!  Both his sentences were erratic and ridiculous!

As you can tell, I’m sick, disgusted and incensed by the entire situation, that poor child and her family left behind.  Rape is such a horrific act, but when done to a child it makes me crazy, I’d like to castrate the guy myself!  OK, I’m not going to, he really deserves that and more!  The guy should have been charged with raping a child and 2nd degree murder! 

Now back to Judge G. Todd Baugh, this Judge is still deciding the fate of people, his total lack of judgement, the ignorant statements he made and the possible prejudice he showed frighten me for all those who will have to stand before him. 

This case got me wondering how many other cases were misjudged or miss-sentenced and weren’t caught.  So again my question is, who’s watch-dogging the Judges, are we paying enough attention to the competency of those chosen to represent and protect us? 

My heart and prayers go out to Cherice Morales and her family and friends.  There was no reason or excuse for any of this.  I pray she is now at peace in heaven.   For more on this case, see http://buff.ly/156dbDk

Leave a Reply

